DeVoe Treadwell, Attorney at Law
Petty Theft cases are cases were property or goods have been stolen from another with a value of less than $1,500.00. Upon a first conviction, you can be sentenced up to 1 year in jail and fined up to $2,500.00. Further, you will have to attend a theft class as a condition of your probation upon conviction, and you will be prohibited from the place or location where the crime was committed. If you return to the place or location where the crime was committed, it could result in a felony criminal trespass charge.
Upon a second conviction, you face the same penalties as a first conviction of up to 1 year in jail and fined up to $2,500.00, but there are mandatory minimum jail sanctions that will be imposed upon a second conviction. Further, if you are charged with a third offense, you will be charged with a felony regardless of the value of the property stolen, and if you are convicted of the charge, then you will be subject to the Kansas Sentencing Guidelines. Lastly, if you have been accused of stealing property or goods with a value of over $1,500.00, you will be charged with a felony which will, also, subject you to the Kansas Sentencing Guidelines if you are convicted of the charge.
As you can see Theft cases can have significant consequences and are complex. An experienced Attorney is necessary to help you navigate through the complex Court proceeding you are facing as well as advising and counseling you on how to proceed with your Petty Theft or Theft case. With over 18 years as an experienced Theft Attorney, you can trust that I have the necessary legal experience, expertise and competence to effectively represent you. So when you have been accused of Petty Theft or Theft, let me solve your legal problems easily!