​​​​​200 E 1st Street, Suite 100, Wichita, KS

​316.202.0360

​​DeVoe Treadwell, Attorney at Law P.A.

 

One of the most common drug possession cases is possession of marijuana. Upon a first conviction of possession of a marijuana charge, you can be sentenced up to 6 months in jail and fined up to $1,0000.00 if charged by the State of Kansas. If you are charged by a municipality, you can, also, be sentenced up to 6 months in jail and fined up to $1,000.00.  After a first conviction of a possession of marijuana charge and upon being charged either by a municipality or the State of Kansas and convicted a second time, you can be sentenced up to 12 months in jail and fined up to $2,500.00. Further, if you are charged for a third possession of marijuana, you will be charged with a felony and if you are convicted of the charge, then you will be subject to the Kansas Sentencing Guidelines.  Depending on your criminal history, you can be sentenced up to 42 months in jail and fined up to $100,000.00. Lastly you can, also, be charged with a felony upon a first or subsequent possession of marijuana charge depending on the amount in your possession, and, again, if you are convicted of the charge, then you will be subject to the Kansas Sentencing Guidelines.


Drug Possession cases involving other types of simple possession of drugs such as cocaine or methamphetamine are a Level Five drug felony offense. Upon conviction of the charge, you will be subject to the Kansas Sentencing Guidelines, and depending on your criminal history, you can be sentenced up to 42 months in jail and fined up to $100,000.00 upon a first conviction. This is a simple possession conviction of cocaine or methamphetamine without any allegations of manufacturing, selling, distributing or cultivating.​ However, you can, also, be charged with higher felony levels depending on the amount of the illegal substance in your possession, and, again, if you are convicted of the charge, then you will be subject to the Kansas Sentencing Guidelines. 


Distribute or Possess with the intent to Distribute as well as Manufacture of drugs or Cultivation of drugs are treated much more harshly in the State of Kansas. These type of charges will be charged as a level Three to a level One drug felony depending on the facts and circumstances of your case, and depending on your criminal history you can be charged up to 83 months for a level Three drug charge, 144 months for a level Two drug charge, and 204 months for a level One drug charge with fines ranging between $300,000.00 to $500,000.00 depending on the level of the felony you have been charged and the Kansas Sentencing Guidelines. 

Possession of drug paraphernalia, which is used to ingest, inhale or otherwise introduce a controlled substance into the human body, is, also, a very common charge. Upon a first conviction of simple drug paraphernalia charge, you can be sentenced up to 6 months in jail and fined up to $1,00.00 if charged by the State of Kansas. If you are charged by a municipality, you can be sentenced up to 12 months and fined up to $2,500.00. Further, other types of possession of drug paraphernalia can be charged anywhere from a class A misdemeanor subjecting you to up to 12 months in jail and fined up to $2,500.00 to a level Two drug felony, and depending on your criminal history, you can be sentenced up to 144 months in jail and fined up to $500,000.00 based upon the Kansas Sentencing Guidelines.

As you can see Drug Possession cases can have significant consequences and are complex. An experienced Attorney is necessary to help you navigate through the complex Court proceedings you are facing as well as advising and counseling you on how to proceed with your Drug Possession case. With over 20 years as an experienced Drug Possession Attorney, you can trust that I have the necessary legal experience, expertise and competence to effectively represent you in your Drug Possession case. So when you have been accused of Drug Possession, let me solve your legal problems easily!

DRUG Possession CASES

HAVE YOU BEEN CAUGHT DOING SOMETHING WRONG? LET ME SOLVE YOUR LEGAL PROBLEMS EASILY.

fREE cONSULTATIONS! cALL 316.202.0360