Domestic Violence cases are serious offenses in the State of Kansas. Upon a first conviction, you can be sentenced up to 6 months in jail and fined up to $500.00. Upon a second conviction, you can be sentenced up to 1 year in jail and fined up to a $1,000.00 as well as a minimum mandatory jail sanction being imposed by the Court. Further, in either case, the Judge can also order you to undergo a Domestic Violence offender assessment which will assess what kind of anger management course you may or may not have to attend as a condition of your probation. Lastly, upon a third charge of Domestic Violence, you will be charged with a felony, and if you are convicted of the charge, then you will be subject to the Kansas Sentencing Guidelines.
Also, upon any conviction of a Domestic Violence charge, your right to possess, own or carry a firearm will be taken away from you because of the serious nature of the charge and conviction.
As you can see Domestic Violence Cases can have significant consequences and are complex. An experienced Attorney is necessary to help you navigate through the complex Court proceedings you are facing as well as advising and counseling you on how to proceed with your Domestic Violence Case. With over 18 years as an experienced Domestic Violence Attorney, you can trust that I have the necessary legal experience, expertise and competence to effectively represent you in your Domestic Violence case. So when you have been accused of Domestic Violence, let my solve your legal problems easily!
DeVoe Treadwell, Attorney at Law